BookMap: Deciphering my reading trends!

Screen Shot 2016-12-13 at 5.07.40 PM.png

Psssst….the actual interactive chart can be found here on my website.

Ok – above is a screenshot of part of the bookmap of all the books I own (over 160!!!). They’re gleaned from my bookshelves and my kindle. I’ve read them over the past 2 years or so, which means that, yes, I’ve had a lot of time on my hands.

The way it works is that the name of the book is included inside its own bubble but once you hover over the bubble the author’s name, genre and page number is revealed. The size of the bubble corresponds to the book’s length, which is why, for example, Lonesome Dove (in green) and the Outlander series (in brown) are larger than the majority of bubbles.

The colors correspond to the genres I’ve assigned to the books. I didn’t do any genre research, I just went with my gut and kind of made up my whole genre. A few examples: dark orange is Classic Short Stories (aka The Collected Short Stories of W. Somerset Maugham), light purple is my most popular genre Historical Drama (aka The MiniaturistThe Queen of the NightA Gentleman in Moscow and The Summer Before the War), dark green is Classic (aka Lonesome Dove, Phantom of the Opera, The Good Earth), light green is Fantasy Drama (aka Swamplandia!, Vampires in the Lemon Grove, and What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours) and orange is Dystopian Drama (aka Zero K, Station Eleven, and On Such A Full Sea).

Thanks to my wonderful husband, Randy, for conceiving of this project and helping me execute it. I provided a list of book titles, authors, genre and page number and he created the colorful, lovely bookmap.We’re still looking into why the bookmap has taken on a swirly, concentric design…but it is super pretty!

Leave a Reply

